top of page

About the District

The Independence Fire District was established in 1979 under KRS 75 and annexed the city limits of Independence and the surrounding areas in 1991.  The Fire District covers 43 square miles with a population of nearly 50,000 people.   

About the District Board

The District Board is a seven person board that has the power to operate the Fire Department and levy tax upon the property in the Fire District. The Kenton County Judge Executive appoints three board members that serve a three year term.  Two board members are elected by property owners in the Fire District and two are elected by the Fire Department membership.  All elected member terms are four years.  KRS 75 allows a fire district which serves as the primary ambulance service to set their tax rates to no higher than 20 cents for every $100.  District Board meetings are open to the public and are held at Station 1 on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:00pm.

Board Members


Steve Martin


Copy of 2024-70.jpg

Richard Messingschlager
 Board Trustee
Term Expires 2026

Appointed by Judge Executive

Copy of 2024-72.jpg

            Dan Richman

           Board Trustee            Term Expires 2025

        Elected by Membership


William Eggleston

           Board Chair              Term Expires 2024

Elected by Property Owners

Copy of 2024-76.jpg

Arthur Anderson

        Board Trustee          Term Expires 2024

Appointed by Judge Executive

Copy of 2024-74.jpg

Pat Cook

      Board Treasurer      Term Expires 2025

Appointed by Judge Executive

Copy of 2024-68.jpg

Jason Stewart
        Board Trustee            Term Expires 2026

Elected by Property Owners

Copy of 2024-28.jpg

Adam Wilson

       Board Secretary   Term Expires 2027

Elected by Membership

bottom of page